Language:    
Exchange Prog

NEIS in the eyes of exchange students' parents

Click volume:   Time:2019-11-22 08:41

           


The new school year of Nanjing Echo-Forte International School has started for two weeks, and the students have gradually found the good old feeling of learning. Recently, we interviewed some exchange students in our school and their parents, and asked their feelings about learning in NEIS. Let us see how they feel!




1. Currently, there are many new international schools. Although callded international schools, they are not necessarily so in nature. The curriculum is not international, and the students are not diversed neither. As a parent, what do you think is the difference between our school and other schools?

There are indeed many international schools today, in most of which there are only Chinese students. Some of them have foreign teachers, but students still communicate in Chinese most of the time after class, therefore they can't maximize the improvement of English . Before my child entered NEIS, I already had a certain understanding. The school was officially approved by Jiangsu Provincial Department of Education (with filing in the Chinese Ministry of Education). Students come from all over the world while foreign teachers come from English-speaking countries with high-level pedagogy. After the class, students want to and can only communicate with each other in English, so their English skills can improve quickly. In this immersive, all-English communication environment, students' English proficiency will be improved and developed in all aspects and thus will be superior to that in other schools.




2. As a parent, why have you decided to send your child to study at our school?

The teaching communication environment in English as mentioned above is an important reason for the decision. As we know, students in NEIS not only can learn standard American curriculum, but also have a variety of extracurricular and public welfare activities. Starting from kindergarten, each month is a month for new themes. Students can not only learn about the theme month, but also actively participate in the school to hold related activities, such as Field trip. The school teacher leads the students to go out of the classroom. In-depth and hands-on understanding and learning of the subject knowledge occur every month. For example last year in the month of plant, students were taken to Baguazhou to plant trees, pick strawberries. In the month of animals, student went to the zoo. These are all we have learned from connection to your school Wechat from last year. Not only kindergartens, elementary and middle school students often hold charity marathons, school fairs, science weeks, Overnight camps, etc.. In line with international-standard education, students learn and grow in all aspects from various activites.




3. We know that the main purpose of Chinese students studying in NEIS is to strive to improve their English and strive to study abroad in a top-ranking university. This kind of purpose can also be achieved in the International Department of Chinese High Schools or training institutions. Then why do you still choose to send children to our school? What do you think is unique advantage of NEIS?

I think most importantly not only foreign teachers are from all over the world, students from are so as well. In this truly immersive international environment, all students need to communicate and learn in English. Before studying in NEIS, my child used English in a passive and awkward way, but now she takes the initiative to talk in English and it has become a natural thing internally. In addition, many students who go abroad in middle or high school experience adaptation problems, so that they cannot fit properly. However, under the international environment of your school, students are able to adapt to the diverse environment in advance, and can smoothly integrate after going abroad and go on the right track as soon as possible. By the way as a parent, I will strongly miss my kid abroad. It takes a lot of time and money to visit. But in NEIS, my child can receive good education in American standard while being around, which has lifted many of our concerns. One more thing, we have heard that the school will introduce TOEFL course, and the Chinese teacher will teach the TOEFL course and the skills of ESL test. This is perfectly integrated and complementary with the teaching of foreign teachers. This one-stop service provides a lot of convenience for our children to apply for western top universities, and also solves some worries parents have.




4. Has your child changed in some way after joining NEIS?

When my child first entered the school, the English-language classroom environment was very different from the domestic school's teaching environment, which made him unable to adapt at first, especially in science classes. However the small-size classes enable teacher to give enough attention to each student. After class, the teachers take the initiative to talk to my child, understand some problems and propose solutions. In the classroom, the teachers also question my child more often to let him use more English. When my child can't fully understand the meaning of the foreign teacher, students from other countries will also help translate very actively and friendly. The school environment makes my child improve quickly. For just more than a month, my child has been able to adapt to the English environment. He has also learned to regularly preview in advance and review after. Now my child has been in this immersive English-speaking environment for a year. Not only his English level has been greatly improved, so has new knowledge in each subject. Now he is very confident and happy in the English learning environment in the classroom. I am also very grateful to every teacher of NEIS!


                                                                                                                        ——from talking with parent of an eighth grader


Today Domi told me that he finally understood a little in the science class. I generally understood what the teacher was talking about. Several days ago, the teacher told an example of a crime scene, which he didn’t grasp at all. It takes some time to adapt to learning in English. Finally, I had some right feeling today. I know that today’s science teacher started from Archimedes, to the ingredients of gold, mineral-like ingredients, to stalactites, gasoline, magma, mercury. The whole lesson was a brain storm. He also said that his homeroom teacher is really an American, because he feels the same when he was in San Francisco. On the surface, the teacher is idle, let the students discuss in groups, but they have been paying attention to inspiring them and giving them full support. He has recently been fascinated with mathematics too. Before mathematics was the subject he struggled with. Now he likes mathematics very much, because it is understandable and interesting. After school, he becomes more active in learning, and there is not much homework. It is a pity that his music and football activity time is in conflict, so he has to give up football. He was sad for a few days. He indeed embraces schooling in NEIS.


                                                                                                                        from wechat log of parent of a sixth grader


I know that NEIS is operated with the educational standards of the United States, whether it is the teaching staff or the teaching materials. I feel that learning a language is not just a matter of doing exercises. The biggest function of language is communication. The teaching here is all in English, and the foreign teachers are all native speakers. Children learn and play with foreign teachers every day, not only can learn pure English pronunciation, grammar, but more importantly, they can learn foreign culture, etiquette and so on. As far as I know, most existing school training is for higher scores and students become the machine for examinations. Many people can get high marks, but they learn "dumb English." NEIS is a different place, children can learn its school culture: love, gratitude, dedication.


                                                                                                                         ——from talking with parent of a kindergarten student

语言选择:    
国际交换生项目

交换生和家长眼中的NEIS

点击量:   时间:2019-11-05 12:54

       

           


       南京爱可外籍人员子女学校已经开学两周了,同学们也逐渐找到学习的感觉和状态。近期我们采访了学校里一些交流交换生以及学生们的家长,询问了一些他们学习的感受,让我们一起来了解采访的情况!




       1. 当前,有很多新兴的国际学校。尽管学校的性质不一定是真正意义上的涉外国际学校,学生的来源大都是中国学生。作为家长,您觉得我们学校和其他学校有什么区别?

       当今确实有很多国际学校,大部分都是中国学生,有的课是外教老师,但是在课后大部分时间学生们还是用中文交流,无法将英语的水平练习发挥到极致。在我的孩子进校前,曾做过一定的了解,南京爱可外籍人员子女学校是江苏省教育厅正式审批通过(教育部备案)的外籍子女国际学校。学生来自全世界各国国家,外教们不仅来自英语是母语的国家,发音纯正,在课后,学生们互相之间想要交流,只能用英语进行沟通,这样英语口语得到很大的提升。这种浸入式全英语交流的环境,学生们的英语水平完会不同于其他学校,英语的能力会得到全方面的提高和发展。




       2. 您作为家长,为何让孩子在我校就读?

       如上所说的全英文的教学交流环境是一个很重要的选择理由。据我们了解,在南京爱可外籍人员子女学校不仅可以学习到标准美国课程,还有丰富多彩的学校活动和公益活动。从幼儿园开始,每一个月都是一个新的主题月,学生们不仅可以学习到关于这个主题月的相关知识,还会积极参加学校举行相关的活动,比如Field trip,学校老师带领学生们走出课堂,深入了解并学习这个月的主题知识。如去年植物月去了八卦洲种树采草莓,动物月去了动物园等等,这些都是我们从去年开始关注学校公众号中所了解到的。不仅是幼儿园,小学,初高中也会经常举行公益马拉松,school fair,科技周,Overnight camp等等活动,与国际化教育相接轨,学生们在各种丰富多样的活动中学习与成长。




        3. 我们知道,来南京爱可外籍人员子女学校学习的中国学生主要目的是:努力提高英语水平,力争出国留学世界一流大学等。这样的目的在中国学校高中国际部和培训机构也能做到那您为何还要选择来我们学校?您觉得我们优势在哪?

       我认为最重要的一点,不仅外教是来自于母语国家的老师,学生也是来自世界各地。在这种浸入式的英语环境下,学生们需要交流学习,不得不开口去说英语,从一开始被动去说到后来习惯后主动去说,在这样的环境优势下,学生们的英语能力将会得到质一般的提高。久而久之,学生们外语及语言能力也能在不同环境下自由切换。另外,现在很多初高中出国的学生,身处异国他乡,都会遇到环境适应的问题,使他们不能很快适应。但在南京爱可国际化的教育环境下,学生们能提前适应国外的环境,在出国后能够融入其中,尽快进入学习状态。当然还有一点,作为家长,孩子身处异国他乡,我们就是想去看看他们,需要花费很多时间和金钱,代价成本比较高昂。但在爱可不出国也受到良好的美国教育,解除了我们不少的担忧。还有一点,我们听说学校将会引进托福课程,由中国老师全英文教授托福课程以及应试的技巧。这样与外籍教师的教学更加融合互补,这种一条龙的服务为我们的孩子申请国外名牌大学提供了很多便利,也解决了作为我们家长的一些后顾之忧。




       4. 您孩子刚进入我们学校有什么变化么?

       我的孩子刚进入学校时,全英文的上课环境与国内学校的教学环境差异很大,使他刚开始不能适应,特别是科学课。但由于小班化的教育,保证了老师对每个学生都有足够的关注度,老师在课后还会主动找我的孩子谈话,了解实际情况,提出解决方案。因此在课堂上,老师也更多的关注我的孩子,经常提问让他开口去说英语,当孩子不能完全理解外教老师的意思时,来自其他国家的学生也会帮助翻译,这样非常积极友爱互助的环境让我的孩子迅速成长。一个多月来我的孩子就已经基本能适应这样全英文的教学环境。当然,课后我的孩子也会很认真提前预习复习当天和第二天的学习内容。在这样浸入式的全英语环境下,孩子来校一年了,不仅他的英文语言能力有很大的提高,课本上的专业知识也都能学习掌握。现在在课堂上的全英文环境下十分轻松愉快,在这里也非常感谢每一位南京爱可的老师!

                                                                                                                        ——来自八年级新生的家长的谈话


       今天放学小渔很开心的说,终于听懂一点科学课了,大致懂得老师在讲什么了,之前老师讲了一个犯罪现场的例子,他说他都没听懂老师在讲什么,适合全英文的课堂还是需要一段时间的,好在今天终于找到一些感觉,知道了今天科学老师从阿基米德开始讲,到黄金的成份,类似矿物质的成份,到钟乳石,汽油,岩浆,水银,他说这更是脑洞大开课。还说他的班主任果然是美国人,因为跟他在旧金山时上课的感觉是一样的,表面上老师闲在一边,让同学们小组讨论,却又一直在关注启发他们,给了他们充分的思辨讨论的空间,最近还迷上了数学,之前数学是垫底的,学数学就头大,现在很喜欢数学了,因为简单又有趣。开学这些天,他在家里的变化就是学习更主动了,作业也很少,这几天遗憾的是他的管乐课和足球课冲突了,不能踢球了,伤心了好几天,那忧伤遗憾的眼神,满满的都是对学校的喜爱。

                                                                                                                        —摘自新入学六年级学生家长的朋友圈


       我知道Echo-Forte国际学校无论是教师的配备,还是教材的选择,都是按照美国的标准来制定的。我觉得学习一门语言,不是只要能做对练习题就行了,语言最大的功能是交流。这儿的教学是全英文教学,而且外教都是来自于母语为英语的国家。孩子每天跟外教在一起学习、游戏,不仅可以学到纯正的英语发音、语法,更重要的是可以学习外国的文化、礼仪等等。据我了解,大部分培训班的宗旨是提高学习分数,成为考试的机器,很多人可以考高分,但是学的是“哑巴英语”。爱可不一样,孩子可以学习爱可的校园文化:爱,感恩,奉献。

                                                                                                                         ——来自某位幼儿园家长的谈话